top of page
My Pick:

NYX gives you a great product for a low price! Make sure you check it out next time you're at the drugstore!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

My Top Ten Favorite Movies

I don't have a book review or an article I have written to share with you today. So I thought I would do a little Top Ten. Movies have been on my mind recently. You know you have your favorite movie that you tell everyone is your favorite and then you have your actual favorite movie? Well, I wasn't always that person, but as I'm getting older, I feel a little childish when I tell people what truly is my favorite movie. But I'm going to give you my full list. And this was hard! It wasn't hard as to what movies were my favorite but the fact of listing them in order from 1 to 10. But I somehow managed to do it! Let's begin the countdown.

10. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

I know, I know, you're going to give me an ear full on how this is number ten. This is a great film. The casting is great, the storyline even greater. It's hands down one of the most beautifully shot movies I've ever seen. The reason it's low on my list, for me, is that this movie is more of a thinker. You have to watch close and see what's really happening. When I first saw this, I remember having to rewind and go back a few times because I was lost and confused because I missed something. You might have to watch this a few times to finally get what's going on.

9. Pretty In Pink

If you know me, you know I have a thing for '80s movies. I actually have a few on this list! Pretty In Pink is such a great film. The characters are uniquely themselves (Ducky and Iona are my favorite ones!) and it's fun to see great actors as they were when they were younger. If you haven't seen this classic film, you must! It holds one of my favorite scenes in any movie, Ducky (Jon Cryer) lip syncing to Otis's "Try A Little Tenderness!"

8. 10 Things I Hate About You

I actually never saw this film until I got to college and one of my suitemates told me I reminded them of the main character, Kat Stratford. I choose to take it as a compliment. Kat is a kickass girl who makes sure no one messes with her goals in life. As many know this movie is roughly based on Shakespeare's Taming of the Shrew. Of course, the famous poem Kat says at the end of the movie gets me every time. This is also a fun film to see all your favorite actors when they were just babies.

7. Better Off Dead

I LOVE THIS MOVIE. It's not a very popular '80s movie like The Breakfast Club or Pretty In Pink, but this movie is wild. It's so silly and ridiculous. I get a kick out of it whenever I watch it. I pretty much make everyone I know watch it and they usually don't get it or think it's good. But that's what makes it so great to me. It's silly, it's outrageous and just plain funny. It's not supposed to be a serious movie. Other people might not like it, but it will always be one of the funniest movies in my opinion. If you've heard the phrase, "I want my $2." This is where that comes from. There is a plot to this movie, but it's filled with random fillers that make it stand out. Like so:

6. Sixteen Candles

This is my favorite Molly Ringwald movie. It's so nice to see her as not a goody-goody and as a pissed off teenager. The movie itself is unrealistic but that's what movies are and it's hilarious just the same. There are so many iconic scenes and lines from this movie. It's hard to believe there are so many people out there who haven't seen it. It should be required watching in order for you to actually turn 16.

5. Silver Linings Playbook

First, I would like to inform you that this is indeed a book and a great book at that. Second, I would like to tell you that, no, the movie is not like the book. Third, you should know that both are great. I liked the book as it was and I liked the movie as it was. Silver Linings Playbook is unlike any other movie I have seen and shows mental illness in a way that doesn't involve a murderer. In my eyes, the depiction of mental illness and heartbreak is more realistic. This was the movie that really showed the acting chops of Jennifer Lawerence and Bradley Cooper.

4. Stuck In Love

I found this movie on Netflix one day and I have watched it over and over and over. I love everything about Lily Collins' character. I think her character is so fresh and a great change of pace from the typical female characters we see in movies. Her feelings are so relatable towards love as a teenager who has grown up in "hookup culture." Honestly, all of the characters are so great. Nat Wolff, Logan Lerman, and Greg Kinnear all play male characters that are going through the different stages of love. This movie isn't talked about enough, and it really should be.

3. Good Will Hunting

I watched this movie based on the recommendation of a friend because this is their favorite movie. I watch this movie whenever I feel blah and it always seems to help. It's wonderfully written and it's just a classic. It is impossible for me to pick a favorite scene or a favorite character because there are just so many great moments and the acting is superb. If you haven't seen this movie, you have to. You'll laugh, you'll cry. It's amazing.

2. Big Fish

I watched this movie in my creative writing class in high school and I was hooked. It was fantastical and dreamlike while also hitting you with important lessons and makes you look at reality differently. And yes, this is another film where you can find some of your favorite actors in funny roles. This film also holds one of my favorite scenes in any movie, the sweetest thing a guy could do. (But not realistic. Can you imagine how expensive that would be?!)

1. The Wedding Singer

Yes, this is my favorite movie. I love Adam Sandler (yes, an actual crush) and I love him, even more, when he's acting with Drew Barrymore. I've loved this movie for as long as I can remember. And if I ever do get married, I'm hoping Adam Sandler will be in the flesh to play "Wanna Grow Old With You" for our first dance. IT'S THE BEST SCENE. This whole movie is so sweet and funny. And yes, it features all of Adam Sandler's friends like most of his movies. And yes, I do like to think of myself as Julia Sullivan.

That completes my list for my top ten favorite movies! What are your favorite movies? Do we have any in common? Let's talk about it in the comments!

13043586_10206638249777726_7542899795273271644_n

13043586_10206638249777726_7542899795273271644_n

The Widow by Fiona Barton is comes out today! Make sure to pick up a copy and check out my review on

The Widow by Fiona Barton is comes out today! Make sure to pick up a copy and check out my review on

_It gave me a sharp kind of sadness to think that no matter how much I loved him and tried to put hi

_It gave me a sharp kind of sadness to think that no matter how much I loved him and tried to put hi

_So why is it so difficult for me to forgive myself__ Read my full review, my thoughts on the movie,

_So why is it so difficult for me to forgive myself__ Read my full review, my thoughts on the movie,

_Life is long. Just because you don't get your chance right when you want or expect it doesn't mean

_Life is long. Just because you don't get your chance right when you want or expect it doesn't mean

_..

_..

_But what is love_ Is it giving up control__ #books #girlswhoread #bookworm

_But what is love_ Is it giving up control__ #books #girlswhoread #bookworm

_Beginnings are tricky things. I've been staring at this blank page for 47 minutes. It is infinite w

_Beginnings are tricky things. I've been staring at this blank page for 47 minutes. It is infinite w

_Define happiness._ _Peace, calm. Something like that._ _Didn't you always hope it would be somethin

_Define happiness._ _Peace, calm. Something like that._ _Didn't you always hope it would be somethin

_I was drowning

_I was drowning

_Out of nowhere you said, I love you. For whatever it's worth

_Out of nowhere you said, I love you. For whatever it's worth

_I don't think I'd want it; it's a lot of responsibility to hold a person's heart in your hands

_I don't think I'd want it; it's a lot of responsibility to hold a person's heart in your hands

_Focus on the positive things in your life and you'll be shocked at how many more positive things st

_Focus on the positive things in your life and you'll be shocked at how many more positive things st

Well, what is this_ What am I coming to_ And beyond that, what am I gonna do_ Now there's blankness

Well, what is this_ What am I coming to_ And beyond that, what am I gonna do_ Now there's blankness

_I'd been running for years_ there was nothing scarier, to me, than to just be still with someone

_I'd been running for years_ there was nothing scarier, to me, than to just be still with someone

_Here was a house; bones of beam and joints of hardware, stone foundation smooth, solid as the core

_Here was a house; bones of beam and joints of hardware, stone foundation smooth, solid as the core

_She'll never wear make up on a date. Naturally, her inner beauty needs no artifice

_She'll never wear make up on a date. Naturally, her inner beauty needs no artifice

_When you squeeze an orange, what do you get_ You get orange juice.jpg You don't get grapefruit juic

_When you squeeze an orange, what do you get_ You get orange juice.jpg You don't get grapefruit juic

_Sometimes you have to be apart from the people you love, but that doesn't make you love them any le

_Sometimes you have to be apart from the people you love, but that doesn't make you love them any le

_How do you know when a guy is the right guy_ How can you be sure enough to promise someone forever

_How do you know when a guy is the right guy_ How can you be sure enough to promise someone forever

_But sometimes love isn't enough

_But sometimes love isn't enough

_Most of the couples in this book told me they would not have met but for place

_Most of the couples in this book told me they would not have met but for place

bottom of page