top of page
My Pick:

NYX gives you a great product for a low price! Make sure you check it out next time you're at the drugstore!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery


Again, I apologize for the quality of the photo because I forgot to take a picture before I returned this book to the library.

I really loved this book. I thought the characters they brought into the book were wonderful! I loved Miss Lavender and Paul Irving. I thought that their storylines were beautiful. I didn't want it to end. I hope we see more of them as I continue the series.

Anne is growing up into an adult and it's funny to relate to her problems even though we live in very different times.

I'm hesitant to say that I liked this book better than the first one. The first one was really beautiful and I loved Anne's wonderment as a child. This book is just as good, just in a different way.

You can pick up this book for $13.60.

Favorite Quotes:

  • "I think a truly perfect person wouldn't be very interesting."

  • "'She was born already brought up, so she doesn't need us; and I think,' concluded Ann, hitting on a very vital truth, 'that we always love best the people who need us.'"

  • "Marjory White, aged ten, wanted to be a widow. Questioned why, she gravely said that if you weren't married people called you an old maid, and if you were your husband bossed you; but if you were a widow there'd be no danger of either."

  • "A moonglade is the track the full moon makes on the water when it is rising from the sea, you know, teacher."

  • "'Anne, I believe you're just talking nonsense.' 'Of course I was, dear boy. Don't you know that it is only very foolish folk who talk sense all the time?'"

  • "September slipped by into a gold and crimson graciousness of October."

  • "'Living so that you beautify your name, even if it wasn't beautiful to begin with... making it stand in people's thoughts for something so lovely and pleasant that they never think of it by itself.'"

  • "'Dreams and make-believes are all very well in the daytime and the sunshine, but when dark and storm come they fail to satisfy. One wants real things then.'"

  • "'But, Anne, a broken heart in real life isn't half as dreadful as it is in books. It's a good deal like a bad tooth... though you won't think that a very romantic simile. It takes spells of aching and giving you a sleepless night now and then, but between times it lets you enjoy life and dreams and echoes and peanut candy as it there were nothing the matter with it.'"

  • "'Oh, sometimes I think it is of no use to make friends. They only go out of your life after awhile and leave a hurt that is worse than the emptiness before they came.'"

  • "'It was a little belated, perhaps, like a rose blooming in October which should have bloomed in June; but none the less a rose, all sweetness and fragrance, with the gleam of gold in it's heart.'"

  • "'In this world you've just got to hope for the best and prepare for the worst and take whatever God sends.'"

bottom of page