top of page
My Pick:

NYX gives you a great product for a low price! Make sure you check it out next time you're at the drugstore!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery


This book was so good and so sad. It was sad to watch Anne grow up and become less of the child where everything is a wonder to her. But it was exciting to see her become a young woman at college. We meet other characters that become a bigger part of Anne's life and we don't get to see much of the Avonlea characters that Anne grew up with.

It was really interesting to see time past and everyone change and grow up, and get married, and die. It just felt like so much time has past but it really hasn't. It was just a really big step in Anne's life so it felt that way.

You can get this book for $5.99 which is so cheap! Let me know if you've read this series or if you're reading along with me. I can't wait to pick up the next book and see where Anne takes us next.

Favorite Quotes:

  • "'Here lieth the body of Albert Crawford, Esp.,' read Anne from a worn, gray slab, 'for many years Keeper of His Majesty's Ordnance at Kingsport. He served in the army till the peace of 1763, when he retired from bad health. He was a brave officer, the best of husbands, the best of fathers, the best of friends. He died October 29th, 1792, aged 84 years. There's an epitaph for you, Prissy. There is certainly some 'scope for imagination' in it. How full such a life must have been of adventure! And as for his personal qualities, I'm sure human eulogy couldn't go further. I wonder if they told him he was all those things while he was alive."

  • "'I'd write of people and places like I knew, and I'd make my characters talk everyday English; and I'd let the sun rise and set in the usual quiet way without much fuss over the fact. If I had to have villains at all, I'd give them a chance, Anne - I'd give them a chance. There are some terrible bad men in the world, I suppose, but you'd have to go a long piece to find them - though Mrs. Lynde believes we're all bad. But most of us have got a little decency somewhere in us. Keep on writing, Anne.'"

  • "'You'll feel differently about a good many things when you get to be my age,' said Janet tolerantly. 'That's one of the things we learn as we grow older - how to forgive. It comes easier at forty than it did at twenty.'"

  • "It was November - the month of crimson sunsets, parting birds, deep, sad hymns of the sea, passionate wind-songs in the pines."

bottom of page