top of page
My Pick:

NYX gives you a great product for a low price! Make sure you check it out next time you're at the drugstore!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

My Skincare Routine!


This is a blog post that I've been wanting to do for awhile. As you know, I really kicked up my skincare routine for my resolution last year! And now I love doing my skincare routine. It gives me a little "me" time every day that I enjoy immensely. I usually do a more intense skincare routine at night than in the morning. Depending on what my skin needs and how it feels, most mornings I just get away with micellar water and moisturizer. And if you read my post yesterday, I also now do my Light Mask from Neutrogena in the morning after I wash my face, before I put on moisturizer. On days that my skin needs a little more TLC I do the same steps as my night routine.

At night, I do a lot of steps. You don't have to do everything I do, I just enjoy doing all the steps and taking time for myself after a long day.

I will include all the products that I'm currently using but know that I switch them out regularly because I have so many samples to try and the samples can go quickly. But anyway, here is what my current skin routine looks like:

1.Take all my makeup off.

If you do one thing for yourself, let it be this. I know we hear this all the time how important it is to take your makeup off, but it's so true and so important. My favorite way to do it is to use Pond's Cold Cream Cleanser. I know I just said I change what I use regularly, but this is something I use ALL. THE. TIME. It takes my makeup off so easily and doesn't strip my skin. I don't really like to use makeup wipes for that reason, but on those late nights I reach for Pond's Makeup Wipes. I have tried all the different ones they have and I like all of them, but I'm currently using Original Fresh MoistureClean Towelettes. These are great options if you have sensitive skin. For any leftover mascara or eye makeup, I take micellar water and a Q-Tip. I'm currently using Beauty 360 All-In-One Micellar Cleansing Water.

2. Cleansing

After taking off my makeup, I go and wash my face. I don't use any fancy brushes to clean my skin because I find they can be a little harsh. I just use clean hands. I lather up for about a minute or so and rinse it off. I'm currently using Skinfood's Egg White Perfect Pore Cleansing Foam and I'm loving it!

3. Masking/Exfoliating

I think it's SUPER important to use face masks regularly. I don't understand people who online do one once a week. I use a face mask every other day and then on Sundays, as a part of my Self-Care Sunday resolution, I use a sheet mask! I just finished using Hey Honey Uncover Detoxifying Mud Mask which I really liked and I'm going to be using Blaq Mask next! As far as sheet masks go, I usually grab a bunch of random ones from Marshalls whenever I'm there. I think next time I'm going to buy a box from Facetory or pick up a few from ULTA. I exfoliate on the days I don't exfoliate. I use either physical or chemical exfoliators, I'm not picky. I'm currently using one that's both, Kate Somerville's ExfoliKate which is one of my favorites.

4. Tone

This is just a basic step I do to make sure I have everything off my face. You could do this step before you mask or exfoliate, but this also acts as a safety net to make sure I got all of my mask off before I continue with my skincare. I'm using the CVS knock-off of Neutrogena's Alcohol-Free Toner.

5. Serum

When I ran out sample sized serums, it was something that I felt so uncomfortable not including in my skincare routine that I went out and bought Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins Mega-Bright Dark Spot Correcting Serum to help lighten up my acne marks. This will set you back a lot, but I really enjoy using it and I think it helps a lot!

6. Eye Cream

I'm going to say this for once and for all: You need to out your eye cream all around your eye, not just underneath it. Under your brow bone, on your lid, and under your eye. It should be one big circle. The one I have been using is also by Origins. It's their GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream to Brighten and Depuff. This is also great to use in the morning because the peachy tone helps cancel out any darkness.

7. Oil

I only use oil at night. It really helps hydrate my skin but I'm still afraid to use it in the morning in case it makes me too oily during the day. I take about 8-10 drops of coconut oil that I got at Marshalls and pat it into my face and neck.

8. Moisturize

Finally, but certainly not least, moisturizer. I just finished using Bayberry Naturals Rosehip & Hibiscus Moisturizer which is liquidy but I don't mind that because it's 100% vegan. I love to use vegan and organic products when I can. I'm going to be using the Naked Cosmetics Naked Advanced Aloe Moisturizer next, which is a popular blog post!

That's my skincare routine! I know it may seem excessive but it's something I enjoy doing it. As long as you take your makeup off, wash your face, and moisturize, it's all you really need. And I do believe in investing in your skincare, but if you can't or don't want to, you don't have to. Five of these things on this list are from the drugstore!

What's your skincare routine? Let me know below!

13043586_10206638249777726_7542899795273271644_n

13043586_10206638249777726_7542899795273271644_n

The Widow by Fiona Barton is comes out today! Make sure to pick up a copy and check out my review on

The Widow by Fiona Barton is comes out today! Make sure to pick up a copy and check out my review on

_It gave me a sharp kind of sadness to think that no matter how much I loved him and tried to put hi

_It gave me a sharp kind of sadness to think that no matter how much I loved him and tried to put hi

_So why is it so difficult for me to forgive myself__ Read my full review, my thoughts on the movie,

_So why is it so difficult for me to forgive myself__ Read my full review, my thoughts on the movie,

_Life is long. Just because you don't get your chance right when you want or expect it doesn't mean

_Life is long. Just because you don't get your chance right when you want or expect it doesn't mean

_..

_..

_But what is love_ Is it giving up control__ #books #girlswhoread #bookworm

_But what is love_ Is it giving up control__ #books #girlswhoread #bookworm

_Beginnings are tricky things. I've been staring at this blank page for 47 minutes. It is infinite w

_Beginnings are tricky things. I've been staring at this blank page for 47 minutes. It is infinite w

_Define happiness._ _Peace, calm. Something like that._ _Didn't you always hope it would be somethin

_Define happiness._ _Peace, calm. Something like that._ _Didn't you always hope it would be somethin

_I was drowning

_I was drowning

_Out of nowhere you said, I love you. For whatever it's worth

_Out of nowhere you said, I love you. For whatever it's worth

_I don't think I'd want it; it's a lot of responsibility to hold a person's heart in your hands

_I don't think I'd want it; it's a lot of responsibility to hold a person's heart in your hands

_Focus on the positive things in your life and you'll be shocked at how many more positive things st

_Focus on the positive things in your life and you'll be shocked at how many more positive things st

Well, what is this_ What am I coming to_ And beyond that, what am I gonna do_ Now there's blankness

Well, what is this_ What am I coming to_ And beyond that, what am I gonna do_ Now there's blankness

_I'd been running for years_ there was nothing scarier, to me, than to just be still with someone

_I'd been running for years_ there was nothing scarier, to me, than to just be still with someone

_Here was a house; bones of beam and joints of hardware, stone foundation smooth, solid as the core

_Here was a house; bones of beam and joints of hardware, stone foundation smooth, solid as the core

_She'll never wear make up on a date. Naturally, her inner beauty needs no artifice

_She'll never wear make up on a date. Naturally, her inner beauty needs no artifice

_When you squeeze an orange, what do you get_ You get orange juice.jpg You don't get grapefruit juic

_When you squeeze an orange, what do you get_ You get orange juice.jpg You don't get grapefruit juic

_Sometimes you have to be apart from the people you love, but that doesn't make you love them any le

_Sometimes you have to be apart from the people you love, but that doesn't make you love them any le

_How do you know when a guy is the right guy_ How can you be sure enough to promise someone forever

_How do you know when a guy is the right guy_ How can you be sure enough to promise someone forever

_But sometimes love isn't enough

_But sometimes love isn't enough

_Most of the couples in this book told me they would not have met but for place

_Most of the couples in this book told me they would not have met but for place

bottom of page