top of page
My Pick:

NYX gives you a great product for a low price! Make sure you check it out next time you're at the drugstore!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

Anne of Ingleside by L.M. Montgomery


This book is the most controversial book in the Anne of Green Gables series. I understand why, which I will explain in a little bit, but I also enjoyed the book. It wasn't my favorite, but I didn't hate it. It was interesting to read.

In this book, Anne takes a backseat. She's still in the book and we hear from her quite often, but this book revolves around her children. This is why so many people were upset with this book because it's not the same Anne we've known and loved in other books where she was up to her usual antics. In this book, we see her more as a mother which is fitting! It makes sense that she would be a little more serious and that we would see her as a mother and wife and how her relationships have developed.

The big shock in this book is that Anne and Gilbert are having minor marriage troubles. But I'm not going to really talk about that because I don't want to spoil anything.

You can get this book for $5.99. I can see that this could be the point where people stopped reading the series, but I'm still reading the series and I'm so excited that I'm almost done with it!

Favorite Quotes:

  • “Well, that was life. Gladness and pain...hope and fear...and change. Always change! You could not help it. You had to let the old go and take the new to your heart...learn to love it and then let it go in turn. Spring, lovely as it was, must yield to summer and summer lose itself in autumn. The birth...the bridal...the death...”

  • “It's a dreadful mistake to cherish bitterness for years... hugging it to our hearts like a treasure.”

  • “And yet … it's the little things that fret the holes in life … like moths … and ruin it.”

bottom of page