top of page
My Pick:

NYX gives you a great product for a low price! Make sure you check it out next time you're at the drugstore!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

Rilla of Ingleside by L.M. Montgomery


This book was my favorite one in the series, hands down. I have not cried so much in this series than I did when I was reading this book. It was so moving and heartbreaking, yet hopeful.

This book revolves around Rilla, Anne's youngest child, as she grows up. Then, World War I breaks out and her life as she knows it is forever changed. We watch Rilla grow from a child to a young woman and the transformation is inspiring.

I am so sad that this series is over, although it was a little long. Overall, I think if more of the books had been like this one, I would have enjoyed the series that much more. I do have to say, this has got to be one of the most satisfying endings to a series. I was very happy the way it was all tied up and it doesn't leave me wanting another book or to know what happens next. (Okay, maybe I need want an epilogue but the yearning isn't that strong.)

You can pick up the last book for $5.44. If you're interested in reading the series from the beginning, you can pick up the box set for $29.27.

Favorite Quotes:

  • “There was something in her movements that made you think she never walked but always danced.”

  • “She wanted to be alone - to think things out - to adjust herself, if it were possible, to the new world in which she seemed to have been transplanted with a suddenness and completeness that left her half bewildered to her own identity.”

  • "'They have been two terrible years - and yet I have a queer feeling of thankfulness for them - as if they had brought me something very precious in all their pain. I wouldn't want to go back and be the girl I was two years ago not even if I could. Not that I think I've made any wonderful progress - but I'm not quite the selfish frivolous little doll I was then. I suppose I had a soul then Miss Oliver - but I didn't know it. I know it now - and that is worth a great deal - worth all the suffering of the past few years.'”

  • There are moments when we have real fun because, just for the moment, we don't think about things and then--we remember--and the remembering is worse than thinking of it all the time would have been.”

  • “An hour ago on the sand-shore he has been looking at her as if she were the only being of any importance in the world. And now she was a nobody.”

bottom of page