top of page
My Pick:

NYX gives you a great product for a low price! Make sure you check it out next time you're at the drugstore!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli


This was genuinely great read. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed a book so much! (Yes I do, it was Trouble Is A Friend Of Mine, highly recommend!) This book was just fun to read and hard to put down. I did something I have never done before... I cheated and looked at the end. I HAD TO KNOW WHO BLUE WAS! I haven't watched the movie yet, but I plan to. I love that books are taking over the movie industry and representing communities that are so often overlooked. As a book-lover and a decent human being who believes everyone should see themselves represented in media, I am HERE FOR IT. Anyway, I really related to Leah. I loved her character the most even if she wasn't a huge part of this book. I'm excited to read her novel which I'm sure I'll get to eventually. I thought the format of the book, aka the edition of the emails between Blue & Simon was genius. I love when authors do something different like that and do it well! This book made me angry and happy and had me crying and laughing throughout the story. I thought it was such a current topic and dealt with coming out in a very honest sort of way (disclaimer, I am no expert since I haven't come out for anything) I thought it was very telling how it's not always a black and white issue of whether you have the support of your friends and family. That there's an adjustment.

Anyway, I recommend this book to everyone, not just young adults, although I think young adults should definitely read this. You can pick up a copy for $10.38.

Favorite Quotes:

  • “People really are like houses with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it's a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.”

  • “The way I feel about him is like a heartbeat -- soft and persistent, underlying everything.”

  • “He talked about the ocean between people. And how the whole point of everything is to find a shore worth swimming to.”

  • “I’m too busy trying not to be in love with someone who isn’t real.”

  • "And we're kissing like it's breathing."

13043586_10206638249777726_7542899795273271644_n

13043586_10206638249777726_7542899795273271644_n

The Widow by Fiona Barton is comes out today! Make sure to pick up a copy and check out my review on

The Widow by Fiona Barton is comes out today! Make sure to pick up a copy and check out my review on

_It gave me a sharp kind of sadness to think that no matter how much I loved him and tried to put hi

_It gave me a sharp kind of sadness to think that no matter how much I loved him and tried to put hi

_So why is it so difficult for me to forgive myself__ Read my full review, my thoughts on the movie,

_So why is it so difficult for me to forgive myself__ Read my full review, my thoughts on the movie,

_Life is long. Just because you don't get your chance right when you want or expect it doesn't mean

_Life is long. Just because you don't get your chance right when you want or expect it doesn't mean

_..

_..

_But what is love_ Is it giving up control__ #books #girlswhoread #bookworm

_But what is love_ Is it giving up control__ #books #girlswhoread #bookworm

_Beginnings are tricky things. I've been staring at this blank page for 47 minutes. It is infinite w

_Beginnings are tricky things. I've been staring at this blank page for 47 minutes. It is infinite w

_Define happiness._ _Peace, calm. Something like that._ _Didn't you always hope it would be somethin

_Define happiness._ _Peace, calm. Something like that._ _Didn't you always hope it would be somethin

_I was drowning

_I was drowning

_Out of nowhere you said, I love you. For whatever it's worth

_Out of nowhere you said, I love you. For whatever it's worth

_I don't think I'd want it; it's a lot of responsibility to hold a person's heart in your hands

_I don't think I'd want it; it's a lot of responsibility to hold a person's heart in your hands

_Focus on the positive things in your life and you'll be shocked at how many more positive things st

_Focus on the positive things in your life and you'll be shocked at how many more positive things st

Well, what is this_ What am I coming to_ And beyond that, what am I gonna do_ Now there's blankness

Well, what is this_ What am I coming to_ And beyond that, what am I gonna do_ Now there's blankness

_I'd been running for years_ there was nothing scarier, to me, than to just be still with someone

_I'd been running for years_ there was nothing scarier, to me, than to just be still with someone

_Here was a house; bones of beam and joints of hardware, stone foundation smooth, solid as the core

_Here was a house; bones of beam and joints of hardware, stone foundation smooth, solid as the core

_She'll never wear make up on a date. Naturally, her inner beauty needs no artifice

_She'll never wear make up on a date. Naturally, her inner beauty needs no artifice

_When you squeeze an orange, what do you get_ You get orange juice.jpg You don't get grapefruit juic

_When you squeeze an orange, what do you get_ You get orange juice.jpg You don't get grapefruit juic

_Sometimes you have to be apart from the people you love, but that doesn't make you love them any le

_Sometimes you have to be apart from the people you love, but that doesn't make you love them any le

_How do you know when a guy is the right guy_ How can you be sure enough to promise someone forever

_How do you know when a guy is the right guy_ How can you be sure enough to promise someone forever

_But sometimes love isn't enough

_But sometimes love isn't enough

_Most of the couples in this book told me they would not have met but for place

_Most of the couples in this book told me they would not have met but for place

bottom of page