top of page
My Pick:

NYX gives you a great product for a low price! Make sure you check it out next time you're at the drugstore!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware


THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD. I was a little surprised because it wasn't one I was dying to read, just a book I had on my bookshelf waiting to be read. Boy, am I so glad I picked this up! The writing is amazing and the mystery will keep you guessing until the last page. Unless, of course, you're like me and might have skipped a few pages because it was killing you inside.

This book is told through present day and flashback and it's done rather well. The chapters are short but still packed in with little clues that you must pay attention to if you're ever going to figure it out on your own.

This might not be very appropriate for this time of the year, but this book is too good not to skip. I actually ended up picking it for the book club I'm in and I was so happy when I found out everyone loved it as much as I did! It kept everyone in suspense and that's a sign of a great mystery novel.

The plot of this book is the constant battle Nora has with herself to remember what exactly took place after a fatal accident takes place during a bachelorette weekend. She needs to figure out who is responsible. Or could it be her, like everyone seems to think?

I promise it's not as kitschy as it sounds. You can get your own copy for $14.40!

Favorite Quotes:

  • “You’d think people would be wary of spilling to a writer. You’d think they’d know that we’re essentially birds of carrion, picking over the corpses of dead affairs and forgotten arguments to recycle them in our work—zombie reincarnations of their former selves, stitched into a macabre new patchwork of our own devising."

  • "I know him by heart."

  • "We weren’t sixteen anymore. We didn’t have to hang around like there was an invisible umbilical cord tethering us together. We’d gone our separate ways and all survived.”

bottom of page